Daily Archives: February 10, 2012

MILF – Mother Inspiring Lifelong Fitness!!!

No, not that kind of MILF (for those readers that don’t see the photo in your email)!!!  MILF also stands for Mothers Inspiring Lifelong Fitness!!!  Get your mind out of the gutter ;-)

Don’t Call it a Comeback!

So, I haven’t been exercising at my optimum level since about April or June of last year.  Although, I did continue a pretty good routine of running, weight lifting, core work, and spin through September, when I was about six months pregnant.  After that, I transitioned into very light running, the eliptical, yoga, and light core work.  For month number nine, however, I kind of fell off the exercise wagon.  Workouts were few and far between.  Actually, they were pretty much nonexistent.  I probably stretched a little – does that count?

Now, I’m about 6 weeks post-Baby Girl’s birthday and I need something to train for to get back in the swing of things.  I’ve been walking and doing a little bit of core work but nothing strenuous so far.  I’ll throw in a short jog with my walks just so I know my legs still work but I wouldn’t call it running.  I also do lunges and squats with Baby Girl in the Moby – which really made my legs sore – yes!  I’ll start playing soccer in the beginning of March but I really need a goal – something to train for. 

A friend of mine with a 3 month old just enjoyed a weekend of cross country skiing and ice climbing with her husband and baby in Colorado.  A new mama who is fit and not afraid to jump right in!  Inspiring!

So, my dear readers, this is where you come in.  Right now my best idea is the GoRuck Challenge in April.  My husband says I’d be crazy to do that at this time and he’s probably right – I would have to sign a Death Waiver . . . maybe next year.  So, please tell me, what should I train for?  I’ve got a few requirements:  the event must be in NM, it doesn’t have to be a race, it can’t be rock climbing (I’m just not into that right now), and it must be sometime in April, May, or June.  So, what’s it gonna be?  I’d love to hear your ideas :)

It’s never too soon (or too late)  to be a M.I.L.F.!!!  (That is, a Mother Inspiring Lifelong Fitness!)

Post image for Are you a MILF?

~R

P.S.  I promise to get back to you soon with a post-Blissborn labor and delivery wrap-up!