O’ Christmas Tree… Alternatives

I have been so busy this year with grad school that my home is lacking in Holiday Cheer.  Usually, I set up all of my Christmas decorations on Thanksgiving weekend and it is complete with a 6 foot tall tree that looks like it would come out of a Crate and Barrel catalog.  Not this year though…  My home is minimalist and if we didn’t have my son I think my husband and I would probably not put anything up this year.  With that being said, I have come up with a few alternatives to our normally decked out Christmas tree.

our small mighty tree

This year we opted to have a live tree.  We went to Osuna Nursery and purchased a tree that we could plant after the season is over.  They cost anywhere from 30.00 and up.  I thought this would be environmentally friendly and something we have not done before.  It has proven to be a great idea on my part!  With it’s 2.5  foot tall giant frame my son and I had it decorated in 20 minutes.  It was a snap, and my son was able to do all of it without getting bored.  It was also nice not to have to get out all of the ornaments and all I had to do was wrap it in a tree skirt to hide the container it came in.

Peace Tree

My next alternative to a tree is the what I call our ‘Peace Tree’.  I used tree branches that my husband was going to compost and added them to my a large vase.  Usually I put these large glitter peace symbols on our tree, but because we have a mini version this year, I  thought this would be a fun alternative.  The best part about this ensemble is that it didn’t cost me a thing!  These were all things that I had in my Christmas box of tricks.  :)

Are you breaking any Holiday traditions this year because you are short on time?

S

What's on your mind?

