Blissborn Class Update

A few weeks ago I wrote about the birth education/preparation class that I’m taking, BlissBorn.  Today, I’ll let you know what the classes were like and in the new year I’ll get back to you with how everything turns out.

So we took five one-hour classes over five weeks.  I learned how to quickly enter a state of deep mental and physical relaxation (hypnosis).  In just a few moments I can dial down my chatty conscious mind and allow my reptilian brain (subconscious) to take over.  I’ve got about six weeks to continue practicing the techniques that I learned before the real deal requires me to use them.

Simple tools for hypnosis

One of the most fascinating parts of the course was the fourth class where we learned some pain control techniques.  Not surprisingly, this is the most anticipated class.  As part of the class, I placed a clothespin on a somewhat sensitive area (my earlobe) and experienced the discomfort out of hypnosis and then again after going into hypnosis.  What a difference!  Neither was outright painful but I was much more attuned to the discomfort out of hypnosis.  Under hypnosis, I pretty much forgot all about the clothespin pinching my earlobe.  This particular class was definitely a confidence booster.

Listening to the hypnosis tracks on my mp3 player.

One of my favorite classes was the session on fear.  With this class we identified and spelled out our fears about pregnancy and childbirth and learned to transform them into peace, relaxation, and comfort.  We were guided with specific instructions to identify our fears, talk about them with our partner, develop a strategy to deal with them and transform them into positive affirmations, and then use hypnosis to imprint these positive thoughts onto our minds.  This provided an excellent opportunity to really think about the things that made me nervous or worrisome, talk about them with T, and then work through them.  This class gave me more confidence in my ability to handle the unexpected situations that can arise during childbirth.  Basically, I feel less panicky and more prepared.

Best of all, this class has given T an important and defined role for labor and delivery.  Before the class, T was sure that his main job would be make sure I had a steady supply of ice chips.  No joke.  Frankly, I wasn’t really sure what I wanted him to do either.  Now, he feels much more confident in his role in supporting me and talking with the medical staff.  Better yet, we have a mutual understanding and agreement about our entire birth plan.  T still jokes about the ice chips, but thankfully, now it’s just a joke :)

What things did you or your partner do to prepare for labor and childbirth?  I’d love to hear all about the classes you may have taken or some of the books that you enjoyed (or hated) reading!

~R

8 responses to “Blissborn Class Update

  1. seriously, they totally ration the ice chips because (one thing they dont really advertise) – they’re afraid of women puking during the labor part. Apparently its fairly common – but didnt happen to me. Unfortunately for me, I had a sinus infection during the whole birthing process and I was already all dried up so I really wanted to hydrate and the nurses kept telling me I couldn’t. I got like two ice chips an hour and I kept begging Doug for just one more. I mocked the ice chips too!

    A bottle (or four) of apple juice and a turkey sandwich never tasted so good as it did after labor.

  2. Shelley Black from Blissborn here … Thanks for the great shout-out about Blissborn! You described the classes and objectives so well. A friend emailed me a link to your blog and I’m enjoying it!
    Let us know if we can support you further in your labor and birth prep. Sounds like you’re doing great! You can reach us through our WordPress blog (blissborn.wordpress.com) or on the main website, blissbornonline.com
    Rock on!

  3. Pingback: Blissful Birth? | The Wellness Experiment

What's on your mind?

