Cut the Thanksgiving calories by running the Albuquerque Turkey Trek!

almost to the finish line

Last year was the first time I had ever run in a race.  My husband, in-laws and numerous friends joined in on the fun.  We ran the morning of Thanksgiving in the Turkey Trek!  The run took place in Downtown Albuquerque and was a flat, fast paced (but not for me) easy run.

running with the kids in the 1k

The race was perfect for me because I HATE running and it was a short 5K run.  Don’t laugh, but my goal was to make it in 45 minutes.  I met my goal on my first race despite loathing running.  I also thought it would be a great way to enjoy a semi-guilt free Thanksgiving feast.  Everyone finished before me, but cheered me on as I reached the finish line.  My son also ran in his first 1K race.  He loved

a happy kiddo

it!  This is perfect for the entire family – you can walk, run and bring your jogging stroller!  So, if you need some advice on how to cut your calories on Thanksgiving, all I can say are two words…. Turkey Trek!

The details…..This year it will be taking place in Old Town

When:  Thursday, November 24, 2011  @ 9:00 am

event address:  800 Rio Grande NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104

Click here to register and for other finite details.

Happy Turkey Day Everyone!

S

One response to “Cut the Thanksgiving calories by running the Albuquerque Turkey Trek!

  1. Pingback: 3.1 miles and a turkey dinner later | The Wellness Experiment

What's on your mind?

