mountain biking trails in Angel Fire New Mexico

the changing seasons during my mountain biking adventure in Angel Fire NM

I have really started to love trail riding.  The extent of my experience on these trails has only been on the Bosque.  I love the winding trails and it is nice that it is flat so I can go further.     A few weekends ago I decided to challenge myself.

 My brother and sister-in-law are hardcore mountain bikers.  They invited me along on a few of their favorite trails in Angel Fire New Mexico (that is where they live).   I was a little nervous for two reasons.  One- I wasn’t sure how my body would do with the altitude change.  We would start at 9,000 feet and ascend up to 10,0000 feet.  Two-  I was unsure how I was going to ride up hill and down hill on rocks.  The thought of it made me question my athletic ability and doubt my skills on a bike.

We started on Daniela’s trail and straight up we went for about half a mile.  Then we turned onto Kevin’s trail.  My family thought I was doing so well that we extended our trip to Ho Chi Minh Trail and ended up coming down at Niko’s Trail near the girl scout camp.  There were big rocks to maneuver along with some small logs but my brother-in-law gave me some advice, “ride over them and don’t look down.”  It turned out to be the best advice because that is exactly what I did.  I think that if I would have thought about how I was going to get down I would have gotten off my bike and walked.  Since he is the expert, I thought I would follow his lead and I am happy to say that he was right!  The ride itself took about two hours and it was adrenaline rushing, hard work and very adventurous.  I’m not going to lie, most of the time riding down steep rock covered banks I just kept saying in to myself, “oh, sh%$, or sh^%, oh sh#@.”

My balance was great and I didn’t crash once, a personal record for me.  I usually crash once every time I trail ride.  Over all, we rode seven miles and gained a thousand feet of elevation.  At my highest point we were at 10,230 feet.  After the ride I was so exhausted from the ride and the elevation difference between ABQ and Angel Fire is significant.  Our elevation here in ABQ is about 5,000 feet.  Where they live is about  9,000 and our ride was upward of 10,0000 feet.  I was out of breath at the top of each mountain and guzzled down water like never before.  Overall, the adventure was great and I highly recommend getting out of your comfort zone.  What have you done lately to get out of your comfort zone?

S


What's on your mind?

