Delivery Room: Bliss or Chaos?

This week I began taking a childbirth education class (there are many to choose from).  It’s not Lamaze and it’s not the Bradley Method.  I’ve signed up for Blissborn.  Essentially, Blissborn will teach me to use the natural state of hypnotic focus (deep mental and physical relaxation) to control my own mind and body to create the birthing experience that I desire.

Blissborn workbook and dvd

When it came time to think about delivery and what I wanted, I wasn’t really sure at first.  I knew what I didn’t want:  a panicked state of emotion and screaming in pain and anguish.  Basically, I don’t want to be freaking out and I don’t want to be angry and yelling at T.  I wanted a plan, but what exactly?

I investigated water birthing:  it looks calm, peaceful, gentle for mom and baby, and Lovelace Women’s Hospital recently opened a natural birthing center with options for water births.  However, I wasn’t so sure that I wanted to forgo an epidural or try something that my doctor may not have ever done before.  Then my cousin, an obstetrician, mentioned that one of the most calm deliveries she’d ever seen was with a woman who used hypnobirthing.

I looked up the concept and was sold.  There appear to be about three major hypnobirthing classes available:  HypnoBirthing, BlissBorn, and HypnoBabies.  After researching classes in Albuquerque, I settled on Blissborn.  It’s comprehensive childbirth education with the goals of educating women to be prepared and empowered, shortening labor, reducing interventions and complications, reducing fear, and increasing confidence.  It doesn’t zonk (is this a word?) you out so that you don’t know what’s going on and there are no brass timepieces swinging back and forth (much to T’s dismay).  Rather, you learn to relax and control your mind to make childbirth quicker, safer, and more comfortable.

Oh yeah, another cool note on Blissborn is that the founders live and work right here in Albuquerque!  Although I’m not taking the class directly from the founders, my class is being taught by Ryan Chambers at Inspired Birth and Families on 4th Street in the north valley.

I plan to update you along the way and come January, I’ll let you know if it worked for me!

~R

8 responses to “Delivery Room: Bliss or Chaos?

  1. R, I really hope this works well for you. As for me… I just wanted another epidural !

  2. How exciting! I hope this works for you, that would be awesome. I can’t wait! I was thinking that T would be in chrage of the pocket watch.

  3. I know a girl who swears by hypno-birthing. (You can check her blog out here: http://ohapostrophe.blogspot.com/2011/07/birth-story-part-4.html) I’m excited to hear how it goes. I was glad I wrote a birth plan but, true to form, things can change fairly quickly. I said I didn’t want pitocin, but as soon as the doctor said that the options were pitocin or C-Section, I quickly chose pitocin. I dont know if I could’ve used hypnosis to deal with the whole labor but I do think it would help significantly! Good luck R!

  4. Pingback: Blissborn Class Update | The Wellness Experiment

  5. Pingback: Blissful Birth? | The Wellness Experiment

What's on your mind?

