dehydrating fruits and herbs

I went to my local Costco last fall and found a food dehydrator.  It was reasonably priced for under 40.00 and I thought that I would give it a try.  I was tired of buying dehydrated snacks for hiking/camping/biking and I wanted more of a variety that suits our families palette.

bananas, kiwi and strawberries

The results have been great and the snacks are healthy and serve many purposes.  I dehydrate fruits for camping like bananas, mangos, kiwi, strawberries, peaches and apples.  I don’t have to worry about keeping them in a cooler and these are a great way to stop and have a healthy snack.  What is the most unconventional thing I have dehydrated?  Salsa…..  I really wanted some for breakfast on a backpacking trip and this was the only way I could think of bringing it.  I put the salsa on the fruit roll-up tray and let it dry for about 4 hours.  The result was flakey dehydrated chips.  I threw it in with my dehydrated eggs and it was EXCELLLENT in my breakfast burrito!  I have also dehydrated herbs, jerky, and veggies.  These have all turned out delicious and I especially love cooking with my own dried herbs.  My dehydrator is made by NESCO  and I love it.  It has different temperature controls and is easy to operate and clean.  I can’t wait to start making some fruit roll-ups for my son’s lunch!

What's on your mind?

