my garden of eden

gardening, sun sail

my garden being shaded by our sun sail

My garden has officially started to look like a jungle!  I have already harvested lettuce, spinach, arugula, eggplants, tomatoes, green beans, and snap peas.  My green chili and zucchini are about 3 inches long and my corn is about 6 inches.  Our garden has been pretty successful this year and we haven’t run into any problems yet this growing season.  However, we had to buy a sun- sail to provide some relief from the scorching hot sun.  It seems to provide some relief to our tomato and eggplants while also looking somewhat stylish.  What do I have in my garden you may be asking yourself?  Well, I have a variety of vegetables including carrots, beats, zucchini, corn, green chili, jalapeno, tomatoes, eggplant, potatoes, brussel sprouts, cucumbers, and a number of different herbs.  This is our largest garden we have ever planted but I’m hoping by the end of the season it will be well worth the work.  We started our plants in March and by the last frost day they were well established.

my brussel sprouts

We haven’t encountered many pests yet and I have two fat lizards living in there along with a bunch of lady bugs that have taken refuge.  I believe that both of those inhabitants are good for my garden.  How is your growing season going?

S

What's on your mind?

