Happy Memorial Day!

enjoying wine festival

Wine festival and my summer have officially started without any glitches.  My friends and I had a great time celebrating at wine festival and the after hours of BBQ-ing at my home was a great way to wind down for the evening.  We arrived at wine festival about 20 minutes early to ensure that we beat the crowds.  We also have a system that my husband tries to enforce.  We start at the very far end of the wine festival and make our way forward.  This gives us a little bit of extra time to spend at each winery and less time waiting in line.  This year we paid an extra ten dollars each and visited the V.I.P. tent at DH Lescombes.  Here we were able to have a private tasting of six reserve wines along with food.  This was really nice because the tent was air-conditioned and we were able to escape from the lines and the heat.  I never thought I would love the combination of bacon and chocolate but let me tell you – it was delicious!

There were also a few wineries at the festival this year that I had not seen before.  One such place called Cottonwood winery.  They have fun wines like Vanilla Creme, Roan, and Black Mustang.  These were not your conventional wines but were more for dessert or a wine novice.  They were sweet and refreshing but not sickly sweet.  Like I said Wine Festival is my favorite holiday of the year and now I have officially started my summer!  If you didn’t get to make it over there Saturday or Sunday they are also open today.

Happy Memorial Day!

S

SIDE NOTE:  How about a bike ride too?  With a couple of friends and T, I biked over to wine festival on Sunday.  It was a great way to get in a little bit of exercise and enjoy the outdoors.  Since Balloon Fiesta Park is right off the diversion channel, it’s perfect for biking.  Unfortunately it was a little tough biking back home into a stiff headwind, but still a good time overall.  We didn’t see any bike racks, but near the entrance there were wooden structures where we locked-up our bikes.  We weren’t the only cyclists and when we were leaving I noticed about 20 other bikes.  So hop on the old two wheeler and pedal over to wine fest for some antioxidants and exercise!

~R

What's on your mind?

