Wine Festival-My Favorite Holiday of the Year!!

some of my favorite wines of New Mexico

Those of you who know me very well know that wine festival is my favorite holiday of the year!  Wine festival season kicks off Memorial weekend at Balloon Fiesta Park and continues until October, and I can’t tell you how excited I am about this!  I can’t think of a better way to kick off my summer.  I love being outside under the bright New Mexico blue sky, enjoying some local vino and visiting with some of my favorite people.  What could be better than that?  This particular wine festival is the 2011 Albuquerque Wine Festival.  It takes place at Balloon Fiesta Park and is $15 for admission.  You must show your valid ID  and be 21 years or older to sample the wine.  All adults who enter the festival pay the $15 and anyone under 21 is FREE.  Some of my favorite wineries include St.Claire, Blue Teal, Black Mesa, and Anasazi Fields Winery.  I will surely be visiting those first as I have a favorite wine or two or three that I love from each of these wonderful places.  :)

I am so in love with this self proclaimed holiday that I have made many preparations for the big day.  Here is what I have done so far.  I have made arrangements for an overnight sitter (We’re lucky because my parents are here).  I purchased my tickets online.  I have sent out a FB invite because I have made arrangements for my friends to meet at  my house before the wine festival.  I provide a designated driver to and from wine festival every year.  This way, no one has to worry about drinking and driving and everyone can relax and have a great time.  When we return to our house from the festival, we will fire up the grill to eat and have a water balloon fight to cool off from the heat.  I’m sure we will see you this weekend if you plan on attending.

Cheers!  Salud! Prosit! Sant! Prost!

S

One response to “Wine Festival-My Favorite Holiday of the Year!!

  1. Plus there is the Will Run for Wine 5K at Balloon Fiesta Park on Saturday! The cost is $30 ($35 on race day) and includes your entry (including wine tasting) to the Wine Festival.

    Check out the details at: http://www.newmexicosportsonline.com/events/details.aspx?id=208

What's on your mind?

